Anxiety

Anxiety surrounding school & graduation

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Gillian Teepe
      Participant

Hey, all.

I’m currently a college student and have been feeling the pressures of finals, and knowing that graduation is in the near future. A main struggle of mine when experiencing anxiety around schoolwork is to distract myself with something unproductive like TV-show binging or video games. This in many cases has caused me to miss assignments, fall behind on lectures and studying and perform poorly on exams. All of these consequences heighten my anxiety, to the point where I don’t want to even look at my assignments because I don’t want to confront the issue.

My question to you is, how do you cope with your academic anxieties? What methods have worked for you (or really not worked for you), which you would be willing to share? If you’re someone like me who is seeking answers, I encourage you to comment your own experience below.

Susan Liu
        Participant

First, congratulations on the upcoming graduation!

I don’t know what your circumstances are, but this helped me when I was really spiraling, had to be hospitalized, and felt like I tried every method in the book. I also wasn’t shooting for grad school, so consider this as just 1 datapoint.

What worked for me was to shoot for the bare minimum so that I could pass.

I had to let go of any high expectations I set on myself, because I had always been an overachiever until the depression and anxiety hit. I accepted that sure, I could do better, but given my mental health, I had to be pragmatic.

I accepted that I’d play video games nonstop or watch shows with my friends while skipping most of my classes.

I accepted that I wouldn’t get good exam grades, but I crammed to get passing grades, and I didn’t care at all what others thought of me.