ADHD/ADD

struggling with job search and interviews

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Ava Rapp
      Participant

I’m in the job search after not being able to work for 2 years due to medical problems. I’m well enough now but the job search is so competitive and it’s difficult to stay motivated with all the standard rejection emails. I get anxious for the interviews so I talk too fast or too much or repeat myself (hello ADHD and anxiety) that I don’t make it to the next interview stage. Structure is also really helpful for me and when you’re unemployed you gotta make your own structure and stick to it. Also hard with ADHD, depression and anxiety.  Is anyone else struggling in the job search? Does anyone have any interview tips or insights on how to stick to a schedule and stay motivated?

David
        Participant

I was a hiring manager at a large defense contractor company.  When my project ended in 2011 they laid off everyone.  I had been with them for 20 years and felt I was protected, but I got the pink slip too.  It was quite odd being on the other side of the table for once.  Here are some tips on ways that helped me as I interviewed and was also the format I used when interviewing others.

Make a list of situations, tasks, or events in your prior jobs that will be used to answer any number of questions they may throw at you.   Use the STAR method when answering any questions.

ST – Describe the situation or task you were assigned.
          A – What specific actions did you take?  Note the word ‘you’.  If you focus too much on a ‘we’ or ‘the team’ then you are not describing the actions you specifically took.
          R – What were the results or outcomes?  If you know your solution is still being used today, let them know that.

By using this method you have a beginning, middle, and end to each answer.  Don’t forget to ask if that answered their question.